Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1,420

    Asia Tour - Chiang Mai - Thailand

    January 31, 2019 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Up out and early today, tried to get out before the sun got too hot. Failed. It was already 30 degrees at 9am!

    I had no particular route for today but before I got started I headed off to 7/11 got myself a drink and this little capsule you use to replace the lid and it’s full of extracts to make you feel better and they taste good too. FYI if you’re on a real strict budget 7/11 is a god send, so cheap 500ml bottle of water for 7baht which is like 17p!

    Chiang Mai old city is built inside walls so I headed towards the South Gate and worked around clockwise.

    I saw probably 30 temples in total, most where kind of the Same but some where really cool looking and I saved the best till last ‘Wat Chedi’ unreal place, monks everywhere and I even managed to catch them in prayer which was quite humbling.

    After grabbing something to eat I headed east out of the city towards the night life bit, I was only going for the markets which where cool, came across a few live bands playing. The best was in a rock pub - a Thai band playing Metallica, UFO and motley crue. It was boss!

    I made the fatal mistake of walking back through the nightlife centre as it’s also the RLD area of the city. Young, white westerner walking through on his own.... think I was approached by every girl on the street, I even had one chase me down the street so she could ‘see my tattoo’ to be fair to her When I made it clear I wasn’t interested she took it in good grace and just asked for a photo which I agreed too. I also was approached by a few ladyboys which was quite funny, although I will say some of them you’d have no idea. It’s scary
    Read more