Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1,421

    Asia Tour - Chiang Mai - Thailand

    February 1, 2019 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    So today is the day I get to go to the Elephant Park and feed, bathe and play with some rescued elephants.

    My day started off with being Picked up from my hostel and there was around an hours drive into the jungle before we got to a market where I could buy some breakfast. After that it was a further 30 mins into the hills before we arrived at the camp. My first impression was ‘this is quiet’ as I got out of the car a older guy greeted me and told me his name is tiger and he would be my guide today and that I would be his only volunteer for the morning so it was a special day. He lead me inside and told me all about the camp, the elephants and what they do there. He handed me some clothes to wear which are designed to look like the clothing the Mahout people wear. The Mahout are mountain people and they can communicate with the elephants as they have lived side by side for thousands of years.

    Tiger then took me outside to meet the elephants, there was ‘Mr Joe’ who was the only male of the herd, he was 50 years old and he had 4 wives and 2 kids. The baby elephants are very cute.

    We then went to cut some sugar cane for the elephants to feed them, they love sugar cane as it’s very sweet. Cutting the sugar cane was fairly easy, however they where swarming with ants that bit you!

    Feeding the elephants was awesome, they are quite delicate around you however they will steal food off each other, especially Mr Joe he’s a greedy one! After feeding them we took them for a walk into the jungle, they make it look so easy with their 4 knees. Tiger and I where knackered after about 10mins

    The hills, mountains and jungle in this area is spectacular. Tiger also taught me about local wildlife and he even made me eat a flour. Tastes like pure sugar.

    After our jungle trek we had some lunch which was nice then I got to make vitamin balls for the elephants, they help with digestion and providing nutrients they need. We then took them down to the river to bathe them, they loved it. I loved it. On the way back to the camp the baby elephant ran off to steal some food, his mum chasing after him before bringing him back.

    The day was brilliant 15/10
    Read more