Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Cubo de La Galga

    November 29, 2022 in Spain

    On a mainly cloudy day, I joined a group of mixed nationalities on a hike up the Barranco de La Galga through a laurel and chestnut forest to a mirador for a picnic lunch. We descended down a sometimes steep and slippery path to a bar in San Bartolome before continuing in the coach to the Mirador Astronomico, which I'd visited on the first coach tour, for a view over the coast.
    As on all the hikes on La Palma and the other islands, we had the trail almost entirely to ourselves apart from other occasional hikers.
    I saw and heard the most birds, including a chaffinch, which I'd seen on teh trip, the absence of birds, especially away from the seabirds at the coast, being noticeable.
    After returning to Santa Cruz, I walked along the black lava beach but the sun had gone in and the yellow warning flag was flying so I only paddled in the sea.
    After having a haircut, I dined at Placeta.
    Read more