Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Roque de los Muchachos

    November 30, 2022 in Spain

    It was cloudy in Santa Cruz but it was sunny when another mixed group of hikers emerged through the clouds at 2400m at the Roque de los Muchachos. We could see Tiede and El Pilar above the wide soap-sud clouds.
    The downside of La Palma being a higher island is that it can take an hour to reach the starting point of a hike going around lots of bends.
    I walked for 2km on the trail along the rim of the Caldera de Taburiente but I stopped at the Mirador los Andenes. The coach took a couple of us to the Pico de la Cruz where the rest of the group walked to. I fed the tame ravens with seeded bread whilst having my lunch.
    I watched football either side of an early al fresco dinner at Placeta.
    Listening to some of the other hikers speaking Spanish non-stop and very fast, I realised how harsh it can sound. Maybe it was a Canarian dialect or the result of smoking.
    Read more