Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Out and about

    November 2, 2018 in Oman ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    I woke up early to make it on time to the boat. Today I'm heading out to the renowned Daymaniyat Islands to submerse myself in the clear waters of the red sea. Scuba diving is to be the main agenda of the day. It wasn't clear where in the marina I would find the dive boat but I found it by joining the only group of westerners present at such an early time of the day. As I got talking with the others also there for the dive I noted that the skies were not clear. Sure enough, a moment later the dive master shows up and lets us know that the dives are cancelled due to choppy seas.

    I set course for the closest cafe to relax for a moment and figure out my next move with the help of some WiFi. The plan became to chart the beach by walking to along it to the other sights Google trips recommended.

    The wind really picked up and it was the right decision to cancel the dives. It made for quite a sandstorm down the beach! A poor dolphin swam too close to shore and could not make it back out, despite numerous rescue efforts by others.

    Later on I stumbled upon a park full of people enjoying the shade a moments escape from the sun. Seemed to be the spot to be!
    Read more