Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 180

    Rough ferry crossing to Wellington

    July 8, 2020 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    This morning we packed our stuff. Just about managed to get everything in after accumulating a few more things during the south island trip. Spent the morning sorting out my photos and transferring them on to a memory stick from my phone.

    We walked over to the terminal building at 1pm to check in our bags. We got on to the ferry about 2pm after an hour the sea got really rough. We were in the cinema room and it was going up and down for 2 hours. It felt like i was on a roller coaster. I was beginning to feel very sea sick and normally I don't get sea sick. The captain did warn us it's going to be very rough. I went outside to get some fresh air and it was so windy and I was nearly falling over. I had to hold on to the rails. My glasses were falling off. I had to put them in my pocket. I came back in and just laid down. Luckily I wasn't sick but Kyra went to the bathroom and everyone was being sick in the sinks and toilets and near the front of the boat most people had sick bags. You couldn't even walk straight in the boat. It really was a rough ride, and we all couldn't wait to get back on land.

    The last half an hour was a bit smoother as we got closer to Wellington. I was glad to get off the ferry. We got an uber to our hostel Treck global and checked in to our 4 bed dorm. Everything seems clean and beds are comfortable. Having an early night today. Tired after the travelling.

    (See attached rough sea picture and some more pictures from the boat trip the day before)
    Read more