Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    South mission

    November 14, 2022 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 25 °C

    Decided to use my day to wander down to South Mission beach. 35°, direct sunlight at 1.5hrs later I realised the mistake id made.

    South mission is very small, basically just housing for the rich. It is also very pretty, sitting in a little bay so protected from most of the winds. I stopped at the only cafe there and had lunch which was much needed. I didn't bring water with me because I didn't realise how far it was. That was my biggest mistake. Half way through I decided it was easier to keep going and grab something when I arrived rather than turning back.

    Unfortunately I found out that mum was right, I probably shouldn't have swum in the sea the other day. Though there are no spotting recently, crocodiles and jellyfish are ever present and warned against. Down in south mission there is a little area cornered off by nets that it is safe to swim in. I didn't break any laws or anything, but it is advised against. So that's good to know!

    It took around 4hrs from when I left to getting back so I was very tired by that point. Enjoyed some lovely aircon in my room before heading to the pool again.

    The temperature had not dropped but the sun was past the point of directly above us, so was more bearable. I choose not to swim, instead I settled down to do some writing and watch the sunset. A photo is enclosed of the pool.

    That was until I got a message from my friend at work asking if I could cover. And because money, I obviously said yes. Definitely a good choice as it was not very busy, so I basically got free money for covering the sports bar for 3hrs. There were a few people in but the focus was on room service tonight.

    A tour that does the east coast stops in Mission beach on mondays. As a result a large group of backpackers arrived late evening and always come for food. Now because they are backpackers, room service is a luxury so they all ordered it. Nothing like 20 separate orders all at once. Thankfully because I was in sports, I just covered gaming as well while the others dealt with it.

    I clocked off at 9 and headed back to my room. Ended up being unable to sleep for various reasons and was still awake at 2am, not fun but there we go.
    Read more