Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Sunday fundays

    November 13, 2022 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 23 °C

    So I didn't realise it at first, but I am clearly addicted to pretty views and food. All I have to offer most days is the great food I am eating and at the moment because it is so clear, the sky.

    I tried to wake up early so I actually did something with my morning, but after still being awake at 3am, I was bloody knackered when my alarm went off at 10.

    Feeling like death, I rolled out of bed and realised the reason why I might be feeling so bad was it was 33° in my room. I am struggling to sleep with the aircon on as it is so loud. I've always got my eye mask and ear plugs in anyway, but it's still there. It also makes the wall vibrate slightly which is super annoying. As a result, I have taken to turning it off at night. This is great for falling asleep until I wake up sweating.

    Anyways, decided to finally check out the onsite pool. Felt a thousand times better after a little swim. I'm not a huge swimmer so it didn't last long but I cooled down which is all I cared about.

    I then needed food so went to the kitchen where I had a lovely conversation with a couple in their 50's. They'd moved from Birmingham 20years ago and had settled in Cairns a few years later. So talking to them was really nice. I like meeting people from different places in the world but it's also nice to talk to a brit every now and then, reminds me off home. They were super nice and had cooked a bunch of food on one of the bbq's and had made too much so guess who got some proper British sausages to add to her own food. Ended up having fried bread, sausages, mushrooms, and eggs. Plus their sausages and bacon, I was living the proper English breakky life. And as mum knows well, it is my favourite of all the breakfasts!

    After speaking with them for a while, I went back and bashed out a good 2,000 words which was top tier. The aircon had also cooled my room so I was actually kinda cold once I finished.

    Then cause it was a sunday, my wifi was not working well at all. The more people that are using it the worse it is, i was getting lockdown flashbacks when mum and H were working so neither dad or I could be online. Was very annoying. So instead I played some spider, officially my favourite card game to play solo. I am surprisingly good at it. I also found a puzzle in the common area, so my steal that tomorrow and make it, cause I'm a weirdo!

    And then it was time to go to work. Work was not fun. I had one family of three in after 5,30pm. I was there on my own until 9,45 when I left 15mins early. It was so dead it is unbelievable. But it was dead in all sections, so we were all bored. It is much better then it's like this cause the supervisors cant go around and tell us to find something to do, because they too, cannot find anything to do.

    We did end my cleaning out the beer drains! I know exciting right. That was truly revolting. The cleaner is usually diluted but they hadn't been done in forever so were almost completely blocked, so we didn't dilute it. It looked like we were pouring blood down the drains. No word of a lie, it was creepy. But one pour and you could see the grime dissolving down the drain, dangerous stuff. We had to clean out hands thoroughly after as it dissolves skin very easily as well. But that was probably the highlight of my shift. Not great.

    I clocked off and was invited for a drink by one of my friends, but then I realised who they were drinking with and choose not too. It is surprising how many of my colleagues have asked me if I smoke weed as though everyone does it. Unfortunately, a large amount of people do. Just to clarify, I dont and dont want to. But that wont stop them asking. So I decided to skip the inevitable and head back.

    Because it was a sunday, everyone was in bed preparing to sleep as most start of at 7am tomorrow morning. This means the wifi was working again properly. It also means that I got sucked into social media which I haven't checked all weekend, and its midnight and I'm still awake. But such is life. I have a day off tomorrow and so can relax then!
    Read more