Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 189

    Here we go again

    April 1, 2023 in Australia

    Today was another bus day. Really not much to report.

    I travelled from Albany to East Perth. The bus was exactly the same as the last 3 I have taken. 6hrs of uneven roads. I had an older woman sit next to me most of the way. Cant say I was thrilled as there were spare seats but I've realised the closer I am to the front on these buses the better. I am never sock, it's just nausea and I get that daily so anyway to reduce it I will take.

    East perth to Freemantle was an experience. The trainline is being redone so it was bus replacement. Late and full but also free. Noone ever checks on a rail replacement bus and it was busy enough that I was not the only one doing it. That bus got me to Perth station which was a confusing and boiling walk to the station. I had to ask a guard twice because their ticketing system is too cheap, and no train was going to my destination. But finally I was on board and headed down.

    My hostel is the YHA in the prison. I choose this one because it has such a unique location. Unfortunately, its location is hard to get too and I got rather lost. The hostel though nice is the illusive 3rd kind of hostel I dont quite like. Most hostels are party hostels or long term hostel, or a mixture of those two. This is neither and it is also very empty because it is so expensive. Overall it is ok, but the amount it costs a night for a 10bed room, is not worth it.
    Read more