Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 211

    Gili Meno

    23 april 2023, Indonesië ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    Now this island was a shock to the system.

    After perhaps the worst night sleep ever. Our shelf was surprisingly comfortable but the mosque opposite began at 5am. Then dawn came straight after, followed by the cockerels and some guy who decided to call everyone he knew extremely loudly. All of this resulting in very little sleep for me. Plus I had had a lot to drink and was suffering as a result. Note to self, I am never having a joss shot again. Ever.

    If I had been alone, I would have suffered on Gili T and gotten the later boat off the island. But Will and I had decided to go together to Gili Meno. He had been on T for over a week and was sick of it so wanted to leave immediately. Meaning I dragged my extremely hung over dumbas 15mins to the harbour, trying not to be sick carrying my bags for the 9am boat.

    We said goodbye to Ary and Tom as they were staying another night on T for the proper end of Ramadan party tonight. Something myself and Will wanted to avoid.

    The boat was not fun and we had to do the thing I had been hoping to avoid. Wading through the water with all our stuff to get on the boat that was moving an awful lot. 0/10 would recommend. Especially hung over.

    The boat was vile, but we made it in less than 20mins and was soon at our hostel. Will had booked it for us and neither of us was quite sure what to expect from the Rabbit Tree. Both of us had heard some interesting reviews as the owner had built and designed it to be like you have fallen down the rabbit hole from Alice in wonderland. Honestly, I think he did a great job.

    They took us on a tour to show us all the design parts and it was very clever. Almost every room could access all the others though trapdoors and cupboards that were actually doors, it was immensely clever. Every room was themed different. One was a creepy child Rooney, another a maze and so many more. Our room was the ball pit.

    Honestly, the best thing ever. I must have spent hours just floating in the pit. Insanely comfortable and weirdly cathartic after being so hungover. The room was also in the centre of the hostel so had no windows making it an even stranger experience. The only downsides was the amount of noise they made and the fact I ended up losing my watch, bracelet and rings to it. They were tied together and no clue where they went. Got swallowed by the balls.

    Once dragging ourselves out of the ball pit, we grabbed some lunch from a near by spot. Where as mainland is full of dogs, the Gilis are covered in cats. Very cute but being begged by a cat for food is not the most relaxing way to spend lunch.

    Back at the hostel we relaxed again and I gradually returned to normal before going to dinner with some of the people in the hostel. They chose somewhere 'cheap' (it was not), and they only had one veggie option so gado-gado it was once more.

    After the girls we went to dinner with had prepared a hostel quiz (they were social volunteers there) so we joined in. It was surprisingly fun even though Will and I came last. We do however have the argument that neither of us was born in the 90s so missing all the music history questions were not our fault (I know exactly what you are thinking mum, but it's a valid excuse).

    We then switched so some card games before the workers began turning the lights off around us and we got the hint to leave. All in all, I was knocked by this point. I'd been up since 5am, and it was 11pm so not surprising.
    Meer informatie