Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Las Isletas de Granada Kayak Tour

    January 15 in Nicaragua ⋅ 🌙 25 °C

    The last day i. Granada started early with a Kayak Tour through the Isletas de Granada.
    The 6am start allows catching night active wildlife and more wildlife in general - as not only can you access the more shallow water where the big boats don’t go, the tour boats only start after you are already back at 9am.

    I went with Vladimir Kayak Boat that was recommended to my by a couple that had spent the last 10 Winters in Granada. (A good lesson to always speak to people in restaurants or at bars. I find it fascinating that every time I travel alone I end up meeting many more people then when not).

    I got a private tour all by myself this morning. Vladimir knew about all the birds, seeing or hearing them. There were so many I can’t remember all of them but here is a list of things we saw:
    - kingfishers (green and yellow)
    - harold’s (even the grey that is here for migration)
    - an osprey feeding (also migrated here)
    - vulchers
    - bats hanging out on a tree (look for the picture that looks like leaves on a tree)
    - an otter!!
    - howling monkeys with a baby
    - sparrows
    - several magpies of different colors
    - black kormoran (also migrating)
    - the guardabarranco and another “national bird” who’s name I forgot
    and many more.

    After the long paddle back I was glad to get dropped off at the hotel I had conveniently picked right by Kathy’s Waffle House - and for a looong time I got crunchy waffles with blueberries again.

    Happy!
    Now I’ll take a shower, pack and head out for a last tour of the city. 🙌🏽
    Read more