Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 62

    It rained and rained ...

    September 10, 2020 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    And rained.
    So much fun.
    Well apart from when the heavy rain stopped during the night but the drops kept falling from this magnificent fig tree on my site.
    Because they don’t fall in any regular pattern so you lay awake to hear the next ones on the tin roof.
    But the listening to them is nice.

    So I haven’t had to have my awning up.
    Well, once before only.
    The weather has been sunny and warm so I have only had the green sun shelter up.

    Anyway, this morning I had Lacey booked for her vaccination at a Vet in Woopi.
    9.45am.
    So Lacey and I went for a morning walk by the Lake in the rain and then sat tucked up on the step of Tin Tin and watched the rain fall.
    Emily and I decided to put the awning up after I had driven to the Vet.
    Off we went.
    Same street as Ground Earth cafe in town.
    3 minutes away.

    Lovely Vet, Jim.
    Had that opaque screening on his glass windows as he was set up in a shop really that faced out to a arcade.
    So funny.
    He drew diagrams for me on that opaque glass with a white board marker.
    I asked him when he discovered he could do that and just rub it off with a tissue.
    He said 3 years in.
    He was thrilled.
    Lovely man.

    We had quite a chat.
    Then I asked him if he knew the border collie breeder in Woopi.
    He didn’t but Kara, the vet nurse had a dog with a litter due next week.
    Much excitement.
    Turns out she was looking after this dog for the birth.
    She is a working farm dog and Kara is going to have one of the puppies.
    So I told her all about Emily ... ( you can probably imagine )
    And she said bring Emily in to see her.

    So off I raced, so excited.
    It was 10.30am and Emily was in a meeting.
    So I paced outside her door, in the rain.
    ( She said later that she didn’t think getting the awning up was THAT important.)

    The meeting finished and I grabbed her and said, “ Get in the car. I’ll explain on the way.”

    I explained on the way.

    Emily met Kara.
    They got on like a house on fire.
    The puppies are due Wednesday or Thursday next week.
    ( Thursday is Emily’s 41st birthday!)
    They are going to do an ultrasound early next week.
    They think she has a few puppies in there as she is quite big.
    ( Vets know these type of things...)

    Anyway 5 puppies have owners already.
    Emily is claiming the 6th, if there are 6 puppies.
    Fingers and toes crossed everyone.

    Kara invited us to meet the mother dog on Sunday.
    Both Mum and Dad are working border collies.

    So I really, really, really hope all goes well and there are lots of puppies.
    Imagine Emily walking the beach with a puppy.
    Riding the paddle board with a puppy.
    Snuggled up on the bed with a puppy.
    Oh....

    Don’t imagine life in the bus with a cat and a puppy until they get to know one another ...
    Or the manoeuvring involved getting a puppy in and out the door of the bus while keeping the cat inside.
    It will be an absolute nightmare.
    But she’ll have a puppy.
    And a companion on all those beach walks.

    She is also bringing her car up so they will go on trips together.
    I am so glad she is getting a dog.

    Then, we put the awning up.
    A 2 minute job.
    And so much fun to see it up.

    Read for the rest of the day, in between walks.

    Rain due tomorrow as well.

    Having an absolutely wonderful time.

    Fingers crossed everyone.

    Xxx
    Read more