Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Rain

    March 26 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 6 °C

    Day 4 of walking. Today is scheduled to be a longer day than yesterday and finally the weather forecast has turned to rain all day. I've been dreading this but knew it was a possibility. A couple of weeks ago it was scheduled to rain the whole trip so I'm grateful that I atleast got a few days of hot sunny weather at the start. All the weather apps say it should be relatively dry until around noon so I think a few of us planned our day to start early.

    Leaving the albergue this morning the common area was full of people organising themselves to set out around 6.30am. Some even got on the road before me. I left at 7.10am. The sun was not up yet but as there were so many pilgrims on the way I didn't have any apprehensive in setting off in the dark.

    Walking out of Pontevedra was very residential. Lots of streets to cross and beautiful houses. I enjoyed starting off with road walking as it is easier on my hips as I don't have to adjust so much for the uneven surface. Around 7.40 it starts a light sprinkle of rain. The pilgrims with ponchos start pulling them on. I have a poncho I got from a London bus tour years ago and I put that on as well. 8am the skies open up and its raining!
    Read more