Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Routine

    March 27 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 9 °C

    The the last few days I've gotten into this routine where at 9am I pour my clear whey protein powder into the bottle and shake it for 30 minutes so I can have it at 9.30am. Because the bottle doesn't have the stirrer it takes a while for the protein to dissolve instead of just being one large clump. One of the reasons I came here was yo escape my routine and here I was starting another one!

    There are so many people on the walk that I'm just following people moving along. The rain is getting super intense and people I'm following start dropping off the path. They escape to cafes, stay under bus shelters or dip into restaurants. I'm pretty dry and my feet are still comfortable so I press on. I pass a few of the public laundry fountains. It's such a lovely communal space. I wonder if the people who used to use them back in the day had a set time to go, catch up with each other and clean their clothes.

    The route is pretty hilly now. Up and down these wooded paths. A few cyclists are on this route as well. You only need to cycle a 200km route to Santiago to get the certificate. Lots of Beun Caminos are being exchanged as they bump along.

    I hit a wall. My body is aching, my face and fingers are freezing but I'm also too warm under the rain coat, I realise I still have a minimum 3hrs more to walk, the rain is relentless, my mind is racing, I'm trying to look at the bright side and be positive and then the rain stops. Another bit of sunshine comes through. This time it lasts almost 30mins. I seriously needed that break through. Its as if the universe wanted to give me a break to keep pressing ahead. I was already planning out vstoius scenarios of what I'd do if I broke my ankle on this steep wet path. Thankfully I didn't need to use those options.
    Read more