Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Cairns Harbour & Aquarium

    September 14, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌬 26 °C

    I arrived in Cairns at about lunchtime today to stunning blue skies and a stiff warm wind. Made my way to my lovely little Airbnb which is a 1940's style 'Queenslander'. I'm on the upper level, which has the look and feel of an old railway signal box. It even comes with a friendly cat and Jack Russell!
    I'm getting the hang of buses now and so I got one down into the city and headed straight for the aquarium. It's probably the best one I've ever been too with huge aquariums showing off the fish of the Great Barrier Reef. Most of the photos I took were blurred and the ones that did come out ok don't reflect how beautiful the displays are. The centrepiece was a 40 odd foot tall marine reef aquarium, which I sat in front of for quite some time in awe of the scale of it.
    After that, I had a wander around the harbour and grabbed yet another iced coffee (Evie got me into these 😅). It's a pretty cool place this 😀.
    Read more