Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Day 5

    October 13, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 21 °C

    Bidjar Ngoulin to Lake Brockman- 37 klms

    It was cold overnight. A see your breath in your tent kinda cold and has one contemplating a dash to the loo or a restless night. Dash completed, added a beanie and a jacket and I went out for the count. I struggle to sleep at the best of times and whilst I tossed and turned I did manage to string some zeds together.
    Awaking with the birds - I’d packed, had breakfast and was on my way as the others stirred. We agreed to catch up later in the day.
    Pottering along I was gladdened to note that the surface was indeed harder and faster. Oh yeah! That didn’t last long.
    Some of todays sections featured washed away tracks some more really steep hills, pea gravel and sand. Needles to say - more pushing and walking.
    However, the end certainly justified the intolerable surfaces. Lake Brockman and its stunning crystal blue water is astonishing.
    It was well over 30 degrees and building as I sighted the Lake. There and then I’d committed to test the waters - once I’d sought a camping spot, lunch, coffee and a cold drink.
    I’m staying at the Lake Brockman Tourist Park and camping ground and it’s all but booked out.
    I was offered two options. The first a single powered camp site amidst everything and was warned that it would be busy and noisy and a bit of a trek to the ablutions block.
    The second is a glamping tent of sorts.
    I took it!
    Whilst I’m about 30 metres from the shower and loo I’ve a view to die for. Overlooking the lake with nothing but a beach of pea gravel to negotiate to reach the shimmery, shivering water.
    As I write, I’m in bed staring out over the lake. I can hear campers setting up as the day fades into night.
    I’ve already had three swims. It’s brain freezingly cold but ever so refreshing. I even wore my entire cycling clobber as I plunged in. Didn’t keep me warm but it came out cleaner.
    It’s going to be another cold night and the wind seems to be building.
    With food, shelter and a warm bed I’m stoked that today has been such a terrific experience.
    Read more