Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day 6

    October 14, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    Lake Brockman to Collie - 89.3 klms

    It was going to be difficult to top yesterday.
    Initially, I’d planned to reach Collie in two days staying overnight at Yarri Hut and the the following day arrive in Collie.
    Having slept really well I was up and away by 6:15am and reached the hut by 11:15am so decided to lunch it and head onward.
    It turned out to be a very hot day and staying hydrated was a priority so topped up all water vessels at Yarri then pushed for Collie.
    I knew I’d encounter pea gravel but not nearly the grinding, slip, sliding to a halt stuff that had me cursing in previous days.
    Yes, there were also some walk ‘em up walk ‘em down sections but overall it has been an awesome day on the trail. I’ve negotiated sand, gravel puddles and burned out areas of bush still smoldering and fallen trees blocking the way. There were detours onto the highway which despite the lovely flat, fast surface are not my ideal conditions. Being passed at 100 klms is rather daunting.
    By far and away the most enjoyable features of today’s sections were the hard track surface, downhill sections through picturesque forests. Despite the heat it’s been a great day on the Munda Biddi
    I managed to snag the last available bed in the entire town. I’m upstairs in the Federal Hotel and am being serenaded by the band and raucous rowdiness below.
    I envisage another early escape and will decide where to stay as the day progresses.
    Read more