Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Day 16

    October 24, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 16 °C

    Boober Mundak to Duckett’s Mill Wines and Denmark Farmhouse - 63 klms

    Plans for a big push onto Denmark go kaput!
    I am definitely over hill climbing. I mean absolutely up to my neck and down to my toes fed up with hills!
    Today has been an absolute struggle and I’ve had this delusional mindset that it’s Denmark day. What a prat!
    After 55 klms of hard slog I arrived at
    Jinung Beigabup hut set in clearing encircled by tall straight Karri trees.
    Six and a bit hours of annoyance and I was attempting to gather myself and make a rational decision. Should I give up and call it quits for the day - regroup and re-energize and plan to pause for breakfast at the winery 7 klms down the track before heading onward to Denmark.
    Arriving in a far more positive frame of mind Cormac offered a suggestion that was to spur me on.
    Rather than spend the rest of the day hanging around the hut he proposed that we head down to Duckett's Mill Wines and the Denmark Farmhouse as there might be a possibility of camping there.
    Spurred on we’d decided to give it a try and at any rate having tents would allow us to free camp if necessary.
    Having dined on a substantial portion of their menu I summoned the courage and asked one of the staff if there might be an opportunity for us to set up our tents somewhere on the property and if so we’d be discreet and get away early.
    Soon after, Annette - the owner, greeted us and was more than happy for us to stay. In fact, she suggested that as it was going to be a very windy night we set up in the garden courtyard where we’d be more comfortable. Further to allowing us the shelter of her garden, she most kindly offered us the convenience of their loos and if we were cold sitting out we may sit inside on the verandah. OMG!
    Things seemed to be turning for the good. My mojo was returning!
    Read more