Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    Volcano Chaitèn

    February 12, 2018 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    Got up early today to hike to Chaitèn volcano. The hike up took me 1,5 hours and was very steep. As always I hate this part, and wonder why I’m putting my body through that kind of suffering. For 40 minutes I got company - a swearm of bees or wasp or whatever those devils are called. They sting you! Except for that I had the trail all to myself on the way up, which I loved!

    The way up was through the burnt forest after the volcano erupted in May 2008, soon 10 years ago. From start to end - the view is amazing. But nothing could prepair me for the view when reaching the crater of the volcano. It was absolutely breathtaking!!! I spent almost 1 hour up there just enjoying the peace and quiet - until those nasty wasps got me on my feet again. They suck! I used almost one hour down - leaving me with 3,5 hours spent.

    I went to Santa Barbara beach, which is beautiful. I am not joking when I say that I had 7 wasps following me, so I actually ended up just leaving the place 🙈

    Went back to Chaitén and checked out the ruined houses by the river from the volcano eruption, and went to a mirador. Such an amazing day!!!
    Read more