Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Parque Pumalín

    February 13, 2018 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Got up early again to catch the bus at 08.30 that leaves from Chaitèn to Puerto Montt. If the bus is not too full, it will take people going to the national park as well.

    In Chaitén hitchhiking or private transportation is the way to get around, as there is no buses for the nacional park. You can catch the one at 8.30, as I did twice now.

    I hiked the Sendero Laguna Tranador (4,8km), which took me about 1 hour and 15 minutes up. It was much easier then yesterday, but still a bit steep. My legs could feel it after yesterdays struggle. The trail passes waterfall, a mirador for a volcano and then takes you to a beautiful lake. I only meet two other people hiking that early, so it was nice and quiet on the way up.

    I decided to do two other trails that was close by as well; Sendero the Alerces (700m) and Cascadas Escondidas (1,8 km). The walk between the trails is 2-3 km, which leaves me with 10 km hiking today. At the end I realized that I could have been a bit nicer to my legs after yesterday, and I was super exhausted.

    I was so ready to get back to Chaiten, but I tried to hitchhike for more then 1,5 hours without any luck. And yes: the wasps was there with me for the whole time making me go crazy. I realized that the hitchhiking thing is really not for me, especially not when tired.

    In the end I was lucky and the bus from Puerto Montt arrived! That ment 1 hour standing up in a crowded bus with my legs almost shaking 😂 I was pretty happy when I got back to the hostel and could have a nice hot shower and collapse on my bed!

    The nature in the national park is very beautiful though, and I am glad I went. It was very different from yesterday, having a green lush forest instead of burnt trees.
    Read more