Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 43

    New ferry and hitchhiking

    February 15, 2018 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 5 °C

    Last night at 23 I went with a ferry from Chaitén to Rául Marine, that took 6 hours. The road is closed at Villa Santa Lucia, and therefor there is a free ferry going around. The only problem is that there is no bus from the boat to the next city, La Junta. There might be one later in the day, but the boat arrived at 05.15 this morning. It was hard to get any information about this. The marina is tiny with nothing there, and there was many backpackers trying to hitchhike.

    I decided to start walking towards the town, which is super small. It was completely dark, and I used the light on my phone to not step into mud and water. The road there is a dirtroad. After 5-10 minutes I got lucky and a nice man and his son picked me up. I was going to La Junta, but decided to follow them to Puyuhuapi, which is closer to the Nacional Park I want to hike in.

    Hitchhiking is still not something I love to do, because the uncertainty around it. It would really suck to get stuck in some desert place. But I have to admit that so far all my hitchhikes has been nice experiences, and very good for practicing spanish.

    The drive to Puyuhuapi was nice. We had to wait in line very long to take a small ferry for about 50 metres. The ferry took 6 cars at a time, so when all the cars from the big ferry from Chaitén to Raul Marine arrived it was a long que 🙈 We stopped at a waterfall 👌
    Read more