Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 61

    Lake Toba -> Kuala Lumpur

    February 22, 2020 in Malaysia ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    Mainly a travel day today.. a long way to go!

    Originally my flight was for the 23rd (tomorrow) but I had realised a few days ago that my calculations were wrong and I need to leave on the 22nd to stay within 60 days. I’d booked a flex ticket when I bought this flight so after struggling with the air Asia website for about an hour I changed it to 9pm tonight. This meant I had the whole day to get to the airport so I felt sure I’d make it!

    Got the ferry at 10.30 back to the other side of the lake- it’s great as you just flag down the ferry from the jetty at the hotel, so nowhere to walk! Back in Parapet at 11.30 and I’d booked a shared taxi/minibus thing so that all went smoothly and we left just before 12. Wasn’t the most comfortable of journeys in the back of the people carrier but arrived at the airport just before 4. So only a few hours to kill!

    Spoke to mum and Laura and then had some food and generally killed time! Flight was a bit late leaving but left about 9.30 so arrived in KL about 11.15 (45 minute flight but lost an hour again). Long queues at immigration but out by 12, in a grab at at the hostel by 1. 😴
    Read more