Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 62

    Kuala Lumpur day 1

    February 23, 2020 in Malaysia ⋅ ☀️ 31 °C

    Time to explore. Kate and I came to KL in 2012 but we really didn’t do much apart from seeing the Petronas towers so I thought I should probably see a bit of the city.

    Started off in the old colonial part which was round the corner of the hostel- lovely old buildings and a big square.

    From there I got the metro over to the sky tower as I love a viewpoint of a city from a tall tower! View was nice and good to get a sense of how big the city is! I took a Grab to a mall nearby because it had a food court with lots of amazing street food and had some delicious Dim Sum for lunch 😋.

    Then I needed to stock up on some bits so I hit the mall- they have these huge huge malls that are all interlinked so I got lost in there for a few hours! Ended up buying quite a few bits (mainly from cotton on) including a new bikini and a beach dress 🙊!

    Took the metro back to the hostel about 3.30 and chilled for a while- met a Dutch guy and a danish guy and we decided to go to the Heli bar for sunset. Lots of people had recommended this to me so wanted to check it out and nice to have some friends to go with! Amazing views from there and it was threatening to rain but held off which was lucky! After a few there we went down to another couple of bars nearby and then when the tequila shots came out we knew it was going to be a late one! Ended up at a place called Iron Fairies which was pretty fun. Late late night!
    Read more