Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    New Jersey to collect the hire car

    April 11, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    Turo is the app that I used to book the car with. It is like an Airbnb for personal cars. Slightly nervous as it's my first time using it but the guy has good reviews and has answered messages. I am collecting it from a Cafe in Jersey.. Mi Casa.

    https://maps.app.goo.gl/EoaXy625AWqFQLZV6

    We packed up and left the Hotel at 10am and bussed it down to the World Trade Centre again as this is where we get the PATH train to Jersey.
    We came out at Grove Station and called an Uber to the cafe. The square around Grove Station was lovely looking. Shame we didn't have time to stay for a bit.

    We got to the cafe and the food smelt amazing. The guy with the car said he was 2 minutes away. We checked over the car and i had to upload photos to the app. He checked my driving licence and that was it. We were mobile.
    I went and got us take away from the cafe.. there was several different types of "stews" Pork, Beef, Chicken, Oxtail, Goat and 4 different types of rice and 2 different types of beans. Chose Beef and Pork and it looked amazing.

    Was quite nervous about driving but yolo.. never driven an automatic and on a different side of the road and in a City so big... daunting.
    Put the next Airbnb into the Sat Nav and off we went.
    I'm not quite sure how the tolls work, I got to the first one and they don't take cards so that was a surprise.. anyway she gave me a ticket and said go online and pay it within 5 days. The rest of the ones we went through said "by mail" so I guess the guy will get those posted to him 🤷‍♀️
    We stopped at the first Services and ate our Dominican food. It was nice but I expected spicy.. and it certainly wasn't 🤣
    Read more