Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Auckland, New Zealand

    June 27, 2017 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    This was definitely one of the hardest days of my life - saying good-bye to my AMAZING family, beautiful country, wonderful friends, and awesome life as I knew it. I know I'm extremely lucky if this is one of my life's hardest things though.....and all because it meant I was about to get to travel the world! I also knew it was something that I had to go through, and that so many of us do. Especially us Kiwis. It's definitely not something that I'd want to repeat though! I cried so much at the airport, but definitely felt that urge to need to prove myself and see if I could make it on my own, on the other side of the world. Many of us feel a great sense of needing to 'spread our wings', and experience being a part of something much bigger than ourselves and our own small worlds. I had an okay flight to LA. Stopping off in Tahiti was a bit tedious though! I was also incredibly exhausted from such a busy and emotional week, and became annoyed at not being able to fall asleep because normally I can. Didn't help being sat next to a gross guy though. Loved that I was wearing lots of jewellery etc from special people at home, and it's one of the things that comforted me! St Patrick's gold necklace from Mum and Dad, St Patrick's silver necklace from The Palmers, Diamond ring from Emma and Scarlett, daisy ring from Sarah, and TDS engraved bracelet from The Dance Studio. I felt such an incredible force of love for my family at the airport, and was especially touched from seeing Mike's emotions as he of course normally keeps these quite hidden. It was Matt's second day at a brand new job which he'd been working so hard to get so I completely understood him not being there. Had a really special good-bye with him that morning too though. There was definitely light at the end of the plane right though, as arriving in LA meant that I got to see my dear friend Emma-Kate who I hadn't seen in ages!Read more