Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Ayutthaya

    March 17 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 36 °C

    Today was hot hot hot...
    ....so perfect day for a bike ride!
    Ayutthaya was the capital of Thailand in the 15/16th century, and one of the most populated cities in the world at the time. The Burmese army invaded the city, destroying all the temples and palaces leaving only ruins which were never rebuilt.
    I cycled round to 6 or so ruins/ temples that our hostel man recommended and they were so beautiful. Most of the Buddha statues there are headless and armless, some say the Burmese decapitated them, others say they were stolen by looters. When I saw all the headless statues lined up, it was quite eerie, there must've been hundreds dotted across all the sites. At some of the ruins, I even used the free umbrellas to shelter from the sun coz it was just so damn hot.
    I saw my first elephant today, followed by lots of other elephants, but they were sadly being ridden by tourists :(
    In the afternoon I went on a boat tour which took us along the river, and stopped off at two temples and one more ruin. The scenery from the boat was very quaint, with all the locals houses by the river built on stilts.
    Off to Sukhothai tomorrow, have had a peak at the weather and think it's even hotter there so pray for me.
    Read more