Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Definitely Not To The Manor Born

    August 24, 2016 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 11 °C

    I'm writing this blog for my family anf friends to follow while I'm away. It is likely to be long, rambly and mundane in parts but that is me.

    I'm flying business class. Not because I am overly wealthy (it would be first class then) but because I don't like flying; I find flying extremely uncomfortable and sitting in a cramped space means trouble for my knees, hips, back and neck.
    So when I planned this trip business class airfares and 1st class train trips were put into the budget.

    But I'm such a dork! I could deal with sitting in the backseat of the car that picked me up. Seriously, Emirates will pick you up and drop you off when you fly business.
    Coming to the business lounge though, my lack of experience in the finer things in life shows.

    All I wanted was a drink of water. I have a cold, the Dr told me to stay well hydrated on the plane to help combat DVT and I'd been running around for the last couple of hours so I was thirsty. There was plenty to drink - alcohol, juice, cool drinks, tea and coffee but I couldn't see a jug of water. Turns out it is in little bottles - I'm on my third 😀.
    I hadn't planned to eat anything as we get two meals on the plane but then remembered I hadn't lunch so thought I'd have some soup. So I picked up my bag, coat and backpack and took it all up to the servery, looking for a bin for my little bottle on the way because I was taught not to leave mess for others to clean up. I didn't find one but the lovely staff member who showed me where the water was took it for me.
    Then I saw the soup. Cream of zucchini. Not quite what I was hoping for.
    "No worries, I'll have some other food" I thought, I was about to pick up a tiny bowl to put my food in when the same staff member showed me where the plates were hiding. So I sat up at the table and had my meal. It was only when I'd finished and once again relocated I saw most other people with their food and drinks at the comfy chairs.
    I have two hours to practise being business class before i get on the plane.
    Read more