Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Stranger in Strange Lands

    August 26, 2016 in England ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    I made it to London, via Dubai.
    I was patted down in Dubai as I went through secruity. I still don't know what set the machine off but it was a bit disconcerting to be beckoned to a small cubicle by a female security guard to be patted down, especially as I had to leave my belongings behind. It really brought home to me that being a female travelling on her own can have it's difficulties.
    I even questioned whether I should get into a lift with two men (I did and we travelled up one floor uneventfully).

    London has surprised me on several counts.
    There are so many people around. The wide footpaths are full with people, enough to remind me of the Royal Show on a slow day. Given the population is over 8 million it shouldn't have been so unexpected.
    There are lots of people smoking on the streets and the cigarettes smell different (more herby maybe?)
    The rubbish bags on the streets and in dooorways. Why is this better than wheelie bins? Who picks it all up?
    The street signs are painted on the buildings. It just looks weird.

    I did a hop on hop off bus tour this afternoon, I had a good view of central London.

    Photos:
    London eye from the other side of the river
    Big Ben
    River Thames
    Red bus
    Street signs
    Read more