Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Ups and Downs

    September 3, 2016 in Germany ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    A bit of slow day today. I think I'm still affected by my visit to Dachau yeaterday and have been quite low today.

    I went to the one of the art galleries which featured a lot of Rubeun paintings. It's not my favourite style of painting and I did feel a bit of a prude by not liking all the bare breasted women, especially by the time I got to the painting titled "Christ and the penitent sinners".
    I'm thinking landscapes may be more my thing.

    I then returned to the Viktualienmarkt for another wander round and a Fischbrotchen (herring with white onion and pickle in a roll) for lunch. It was nice if a bit fishy.

    I walked around the area for a bit before returning to the hotel to do some washing. A load costs €9 ($13.50) to wash and dry!

    I thought I should try out a beer garden as it is Munich. There is one just down the street and it is the second largest in the city. It apparently seats 7000! I'm glad I won't be here during Oktoberfest although originally I would have been but I changed my itinery.
    It was very noisy from the outside and I was a bit concerned it would be full of drunk young people. It wasn't, I think the noise was purely the amount of people.
    I had a slab of roast pork and potatoes, which were cold but still nice.
    I declined a beer, I'm all for trying the food of where you are but I don't like beer and didn't see the point of wasting the money or calories. I could have had a pepsi/fanta mix but opted for cider.

    Tonight is my last night in Munich.
    I like the city, my favourite place would be the English Gardens. The area around Marienplatz would be second.
    The only place I felt a bit iffy is the entrance to the underground and suburban trains opposite the main train station, especially at night as there always seems to be a few men behaving inappropriately.
    The transport system is great; trains, trams and buses. I bought all day tickets and didn't have to show them each time I got on, presumably only if asked by an inspector not that I saw one.

    Photos:
    Painting of Mary and Martha with Jesus
    Konigsplatz
    Apollo the beagle. I could't resist a pat.
    Statue of Mary, which gives Marienplatz its name.
    Beer steins and no, I didn't buy one.
    Augustine Keller Beer garden
    Read more