Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Austria at last.

    September 4, 2016 in Austria ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    It has been a dream of mine to come to Austria and in particular Innsbruck and Pertisau for more than 20 years and now I am finally here!
    The train trip from Munich was only two hours. There was only two of us in the compartment for four so we both had plenty of room. He spoke very little english so beyond establishing where we were travelling there was very little conversation. We were delivered newspapers and he very eargerly gave me one saying "english". It was in Italian.
    It took me a few minutes to work out how to get out of the train station, then I went back in to the toilet. I'm still surprised to have to pay for the toilet. These toilets had no seats just meta and were sooo cold.
    The hotel is less than a km from the train station so I walked. It is an old building and my room is the most basic yet I have a beautiful bed and there is a bath in the bathroom and a fridge in the room.
    I was so hot I decided to have a shower before venturing out. The shower is connected to the bath taps and I couldn't work out how to make the water come out of the shower head so I had a cold bath (or maybe chill off if I'm honest) like a good chalet girl. Then I couldn't work out how to pull the plug. I've since worked out both.
    I went looking for the hop on hop off bus, it took me 3 goes to find a stop, I must have had an old map but I had a good look around. The alps are stunning. The Inn valley is at the base of the alps.
    There is a vespa party right outside the hotel. The hotel organised it to raise money for charity. I had some dinner there, some guy tried to offer me a cigarette, pick me up or both. I'm not sure. I just smiled, shook my head and said "english" and that was the end of that.

    Photos
    Street in Innsbruck
    Scenery on train trip
    Hotel Europe
    Alps
    Inn river
    Innsbruck
    Read more