Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Old churches

    September 21, 2016 in England ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    Today I set out to explore Kings Lynn and then visit some old churches in which Creasys have been buried.

    Kings Lynn is an old town. Unfortunately I couldn't work out how to get to The Wash.

    I then followed a route from Kings Lynn to Downham Market looking at various old churches and their graveyards. Most of the gravestones I was looking at were no longer readable but it's such a nice pastime wandering around these churches and driving around the area.

    I was hoping to find an ancestor's grave in Downham but they have removed all the standing headstones and allowed the flat ones to become overgrown. While I was disappointed it has obviously given them a large grassed area and churches shoyld be for the living.
    I was happy to see one old very old church advertising Messy church.

    The area is marshland and the ploughed areas look so muddy compared to the dry paddocks of the farm. They look a lot more fertile too!

    I finished the day at Castle Rising, a medieval ruin, surprisingly small but it was used more as a hunting lodge lthan fort. I was able to climb nearly to the top.

    Photos
    Boat on river Ouse in Kings Lynn
    Inside Kings Lynn Minster
    St Edmunds church, Downham market
    Wild berries!
    Farmland
    Castle rising
    Read more