Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Seals and birds and boats oh my!

    September 22, 2016 in England ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    I started the day at Morston with a seal tour.
    We went out in what looked and felt like a massive lifeboat, but with a motor.
    It took us our to Blakeney point were we could get with about 2m of the shore where the seals were lolling about.
    There are two types of seals - grey and common. One type (common?) had their pups about 2 months ago so we saw babies!

    Blakeney point is a spit and the other side is the north sea. After viewing the seals we were able to land/beach/pull up/whatever it is called when a boat comes up on the beach on Blakeney point (not near the seals) and have a wander around for 45 mins. The beach is shale (smooth small stones) and I had a nice wander around although really there wasn't much there.

    From Morston I made my way around the coast to Horsey. It was such a beautiful drive, mostly on B roads I think. I hadn't gone far when I came across "Cookies", a seafood cafe/store.
    My crayfish tail salad had everything - cockles, prawns, smoked fish and tiny crayfish tails. The crayfish are about 15cm here and so the tails a bit smaller than I was expecting, although still delicious.
    The view was gorgeous with wind turbines in the distance (possibly in the ocean).

    At Horsey I went on another boat tour, of the Horsey mere and broads (I think, the terminology is a bit confusing). I saw a lot of rare birds such as marsh harrier, common crane, bitterns as well as heron, egyptian geese and swans.

    I didn't take a lot of photos as you needed a much more powerful lens than I had and I preferred to just look, use the binoculars and listen to the guide rather than wait for the perfect photo.

    From Horsey I made my way to Great Yarmouth, just because. I had a look around, the beach front is very holiday park touristy with arcades and other attractions. I did stop just north of Great Yarmouth and got to see the beach there.

    I'm currently in Drayton, just out of Norwich where I stopped for tea at a random pub. It's curry night so I had an english curry (tikka masala), another food item to check off the list.

    It's been a good day, to add local flavour I've been listening to "The Big Six" by Arthur Ransome, set in this area. I've still got about an hour to drive back to the hotel so I'll upload this while I have good wifi.

    Morston/Blakeney harbour is tidal, the cruise times depended on the tide.
    Lifeboad style tour boat
    Seals
    On Horsey mere
    Geese in flight
    Wind turbines north of Great Yarmouth
    Read more