Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    Steam train to Mallaig

    October 1, 2016 in Scotland ⋅ 🌙 6 °C

    The line from Glasgow to Mallaig is meant to be one of the best train journeys in the world. From Fort William to Mallaig is the last part of the trip. The jacobite steam train runs this route and is the train I took.

    A large part if the attaction of the journey is the Glenfinnan viaduct, made famous in the Harry Potter movies. I didn't get any photos as my seat was by the corridor, not the window. It's one of those times you forget the camera, enjoy the experience and buy a postcard rather than spend all your time trying to get a good photo.

    I did like this train better than the Achenseebahn! It is much more comfortable.
    I can better imagine the scenes in many books in which the characters are in train carriages or in corridors. The food trolley went up and down the corridor, I could appreciate just how dark it got going through a tunnel and I learnt not to stick your head out of the window just after coming out of a tunnel.

    On the return journey it was lovely with the sun coming in the window. It was hard not to relax and have a nap as some of my carriage mates did.

    The carriage seated six and I shared it with an Irish family - a couple, her parents and grandfather. They came over just for the trip.

    Mallaig itself is quite small. I went on a wildlife cruise which was a bit of a misnomer. We saw some seals and some sheep! Beautiful scenery though, and I did see Skye.
    On the trip to Mallaig we saw two deer, they didn't have antlers.

    I had just enough time after the cruise to get some soup - prawn and scallop chowder before getting back in the train.

    Despite not having a window seat I really enjoyed it.

    Photos
    Steam train
    Scenery from train
    Mallaig harbour
    Glenfinnen viaduct
    Neptune's staircase / seven locks
    Me!
    Read more