Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    All about the views

    October 1, 2016 in Scotland ⋅ 🌙 6 °C

    The day started off well with beautiful sunny weather. I went out to the Old Inverlochy Castle, unfortunately it is being restored so I could only walk around the outside. Apparently Queen Victoria wasn't very inpressed with the ruins when she visited.

    I came back into Fort William for a cruise on the loch. The captain was very informative and the cruise was great despite the weather coming in cold and windy.
    We saw seals and 2 porpoises as well as salmon and mussel farms. The mussels are naturally farmed, the only artificial part is the lines they are attached to.
    We could see the salmon jumping out of the water.

    I then took the gondola halfway up Aonach Mor, a mountain close to Ben Nevis. I still haven't seen the Ben, it has been shrouded in cloud. Apparently it has snowed up there and may have settled, it should be a clearer day tomorrow so hopefully it will be visable then.
    I still had great views.
    The commando memorial was next and again great views. I then went round to Corpach were my great grandfather was born and then followed the two lochs around back to Fort William the long way, this included a short ferry trip at Corran. I wish I had been able to properly capture the colour of the loch this afternoon, it was stunning.

    Seafood for tea - mussels and then salmon. Delicious!

    Photos
    View of Loch Linnhe
    Salmon jumping
    Seals
    View on Loch Linnhe towards Corran
    View from Aonach Mor
    Corpach train station
    Read more