Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 53

    The not so fun parts of travelling

    October 15, 2016 in Wales ⋅ ☀️ 12 °C

    Well today didn't turn out quite like I'd planned.
    Washing was first up on the agenda, I have been wearing short sleeves (with a cardy and jacket) as everything has been worn one day too many as it is.

    I found the laundromat okay, the benefit of having a car I thought. Unfortunately it was full of other people doing their washing. There was another one not to far away so I went there. Much better.
    I was able to use the machines but it still took the best part of an hour and a half to two hours but it was done!

    Next was to post my books to myself. I don't really have the room to bring them back with me so just post them.
    Yeh well...
    I had discovered when I got back to the car after doing the washing that I had parked in a street that only allowed residents permit parking.
    What I didn't realise is that the main streets allow anyone to park but ALL the side streets are residents parking only and there was no parking on the main streets. I spent a very long time driving around looking for a post office with parking within a reasonable walking distance. I finally found a postal agency but they only accepted parcels of 2kg or under.

    I admit that I cried (in the car, not the shop), I also ate the piece of French chocolate I have been carting around since, well France and had been saving for an emergency.

    I went to the post office recommended by the guy at the agency and eventually found somewhere to park. I asked for the cheapest way to post the books and was quoted £99!
    I asked if splitting them into smaller parcels would be cheaper and she looked to her colleague Becky who gave me a pamphlet to look through. I discovered that by splitting them into two parcels and sending them economy international as printed papers it would be about a third of the original quote.

    Fortunately when I lined up again I got Becky and she was very helpful. The process took quite a while, I had to fit the books in the bags so they wouldn't move around, have Becky seal them, go to another window to address them, back to Becky to fill in customs and pay.
    I've just checked my receipt and with all the rigmarole I wasn't charged for the postage bags!!!!!!!!

    It was nearly 3pm by this stage and I had had enough. I hadn't had lunch which may have contributed to my mood but I couldn't be bothered to have any. I went back to my hotel and read my book (I kept one).

    At least I had a good appetite for tea. During my travels I have tried to stick to the cuisine of wherever I have been, with a few exceptions. Since being in Cardiff I've had South American, Mexican, Indian and tonight I felt like pasta. There is a Jamie's Italian close by so I thought I'd try that. Their seating policy annoys me. After being told a 20 minute wait and then 10 minutes later a 30 minute wait I decided I couldn't be bothered.

    There was another Italian place close by and I had a very nice meal with good service. Stuffed mushrooms followed by pancetta and asparagus tagliatelle.

    I saw quite a few police out tonight and it's funny - I got used to seeing them in Paris that I didn't think much of it in the end but seeing them here made me feel a bit uneasy.

    So I can't say Cardiff has been my favourite place but I don't think that is all Cardiff's fault.

    I didn't take any photos today so here are some of the inside of Roch Castle.
    Chapel windows
    Chapel
    Rampart
    The rock the castle is built on
    Stairs
    Stairs
    Read more