Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 54

    From Cardiff to Cornwall

    October 16, 2016 in England ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    While searching the English Heritage website to decide on a route to Cornwall I realised I'd be passing by Cleeve Abbey, used by Elsie J Oxenham as the template for the abbey in her Abbey girls series.

    I knew I'd have to cross the Severn bridge so checked the details carefully, had the right amount of cash to pay the toll but when I got there discovered that the toll is only payable when going westward.
    I stopped for lunch at an old inn close to the abbey, complete with low ceilings, wood beams and an inglenook fireplace.
    The pork pie was nice.

    Unfortunately it started raining while I had lunch. Cleeve abbey is different to the other abbeys in that there is very little trace of the church left but the other buildings such as the dormitory and refectory are in good condition.
    I did find the bench dedicated to EJO. I checked every bench in the grounds only to find it by the front door.

    The drive down through Somerset and Devon was really pretty. I really like the moors landscape.
    I'm staying down near St Ives as it is the area my paternal grandmother's family (Roach and Ninnes') is from. Apparently Roach is still a common name in this area.

    Photos
    Abbey gatehouse
    Dormitory
    Abbey
    Floor tiles
    Moors
    Moors
    Read more