Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Disney Day 1 - Animal Kingdom

    June 20, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 26 °C

    Today I woke up and it was my first day of Disneyworld! I had a yoghurt for brekky with a spoon made of the yoghurt lid and I literally had to scoop peanut butter from the jar with a sandwich bag to make a sandwich as I had no knives 🤦‍♀️ I decided to uber to the park as it was quite a way. I arrived and it was very streamlined to get in. I of course chose the wrong line though and it was hilarious how impatient people already were at 8:30am of a Disney day. People, especially children already looked like they were done for the day which was hilarious. I headed to the safari tour attraction first, which was a car going through a safari park essentially. It was awesome to see so many African animals up close, they are doing a good job at promoting conversation. I even learnt that in some parts of Africa they are using bee fences to prevent elephants from destroying farmers crops. Next I walked around the African jungle trail which is just other animal exhibits. After that I went to the bird show and saw some gorgeous birds including a bald eagle #murica
    Next I lined up in the rapids river ride which was standard but nice way to cool down in the 30+ degree heat, then walked through the Asian animal section. Then I headed to the Avatar flight of passage ride, as promised the line did in fact take 100 minutes to get through. During this time I:
    1. Discovered TSwift is coming to Australia and freaked out.
    2. Read a book.
    3. Watched a small child vomit into a bag his mum was holding and continue to stand in line (yes you read that correctly).
    Honestly it went quickly and the ride was so worth it, no spoilers but you were strapped in to almost like a motorbike and taken around Pandora.
    Next I wandered around and saw Kangaroos and Lemurs, then headed to a 4D bugs life movie. Got to witness and hear a lot of scared kiddos, the movie was quite aggressive and scary unsure why that's a kid marketed movie.
    I then hit dinosaur world and rode on the dinosaur ride, which was really fun but a bit jarring. This was the moment I realised I'm infact old and can't bounce back as quickly from rides. Next was the Everest rollercoaster which was one of my favourites, it was super thrilling and unexpected. It was also awesome because it has a single rider line, so I got straight on without waiting.
    I then got a frozen banana and waited for the Lion King show. The show was incredible, it was acrobatics, singing, dancing. Think a less extravagant, shorter, more lively lion king musical. Finally, I went to the other Avatar ride which was a gentle trip around Pandora, a nice way to finish the day.
    I caught one of the buses back as close as I could to my hotel and walked to the IHOP just down the road from my hotel. It was a BIG day and I go again tomorrow!
    Read more