Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    Disney Day 2 - Magic Kingdom

    June 21, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    This morning I woke up, had to jump on the Disney app to join a 'virtual queue' for the new Tron ride, so there's no actual lines it's all done online now. I also bought Genie+ which allows you to fast pass lines throughout the day, it ended up helping me get on all the big rides I wanted to do very painlessly. I had brekky and good news, I took a spoon from Disney so I used that as both a utensil for eating and creating lunch. I got ready and hopped in an uber to head to Magic Kingdom. My uber driver was lovely and told me all about how her husband was on a ventilator during Covid and survived. I got out and had to catch the monorail to the park. They called my group for the Tron ride so I headed straight there. It was a really cool rollercoaster, where you are seated like you're riding a motorbike. It was super fast, but over super quick. I sat next to a 10 year old boy who was screaming "fuck this shit" at the beginning but ended the ride with a big grin on his face. Next I hit the speedway for a very tame drive around a railed track. I then watched the monsters inc show which was a comedy show using cameras to call out guests and crack jokes, it was actually hilarious. I then went on the carousel of progress which was from the 1960s state fair, it was pretty much talking displays of a family through the ages starting in the 1900s, a good time filler. Next was buzz lightyear ride, where you have to shoot targets and spin around. That was fun. I headed towards the pirates of the Caribbean ride but was blocked by the parade. It was a good chance to see my favourites, the tangled float arrived just as I was walking. I also saw the king and queen of Disney, Mickey and Minnie. I headed off and stopped in the enchanted tiki room which is Tony's favourite attraction. It's just a quick show with birds and other things singing. I then got a dole whip, pineapple and vanilla flavoured soft serve which was so delicious. Finally I headed to pirates of the Caribbean and today I realised there's a shuffle/ waddle that larger men over about 50 do, unsure if it's just a Disney specific shuffle but it was out in full force today. That entertained me while I waited for the ride. Pirates was good, the animatronics are excellent and the story was fun.
    I then walked through a treehouse and waited for my time on the Jungle cruise. That was a ride on a river past animals with a guide cracking a lot of jokes, I appreciated them but not sure everyone else did... I waited for my time on the big thunder mountain railroad however it started to storm so the ride was closed. I walked and rode the carousel instead and got given a bonus fast pass to use wherever. I lined up for the haunted mansion instead and got pelted with rain, it was hilarious watching everyone in their ponchos freak out and I was just standing with no protection. The haunted mansion was good with all the spooky parts then it was on to watch Mickey's symphony which was a 3D movie of different characters singing songs for their movies. I then decided to go and stand in the 145 minute line and wait for the mine train. The line actually ended up moving faster and I got in after about 90 minutes. A bit of a let down, it went for about 45 seconds and was kind of lame.
    Next I went to space mountain and rode the rollercoaster, which was definitely one of my highlights as it was long and thrilling. I caved and rode the "it's a small world" ride, despite my hate of the constant singing on the ride and finally did big thunder railroad which was another top ride for me. I finally got dinner and decided it was time to head to the hotel shuttle bus. Made my way there via monorail and then got to study the human condition some more when it came to getting on the bus. People are so rude and have no courtesy when it comes to that stuff. Finally I got back and went to sleep. Tomorrow is a rest day, thank god!
    .
    Read more