Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Reunions in the Toon

    July 1, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌬 18 °C

    Today I woke up and got ready to head into Newcastle. THE SUN WAS OUT!!! I walked to Manors which is right near Northumbria University where I did my masters. I met up with Rach, Ori, Jess and Mollie at a coffee shop there. It was so nice to see all of them again. We caught up on everything and especially what had gone on in basketball world. I then hung out longer with Rach, we drove into town and walked around the high street looking for a pub that was playing the English women's football game. We found one but the game started later so we headed to 5 swans which was our drinking place for 2 years while I lived there. It hadn't changed and the beers are so cheap. We chatted and caught up about everything, then Kate and Brooklan arrived from their morning of shopping and visiting the coast.
    It was then time to go and watch the match, we met with Rachs girlfriend Beth and Mollie came back to watch the game too. The game was average but fun to be in the pub watching together.
    We then caught the train back and grabbed frozen pizzas for dinner. We got ready to go to Zoe's house party. We arrived and Zoe was so stoked to see me which was so lovely. We got a tour of her house which was massive and met her roommates and a few partygoers. There was also just dogs walking around and on couches which was the best. Then Ed arrived! He hadn't changed one bit. Kate, Brooklan, Ed and I sat inside and chatted all night, the sun literally hasn't been setting up here until like 10:30pm which is crazy too. We then caught the train back and ordered McDonald's before heading to bed. It was such a great day seeing everyone again and I really do like Newcastle more than I remembered!
    Read more