Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    Berlin Day 1

    August 2, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 22 °C

    I woke up bright and early because me and Julia were going to go watch the clock show- even though I watched it yesterday, the clock has been like a big joke between us and is a huge cornerstone of our friendship. It honestly felt like cheating on Julia, that I went to see the show the day before. So I packed all of my things and went to the clock for the 9am show. We went delirious for the show and it was amazing when experienced together. After, we went to eat some waffles for breakfast, I got a ham and cheese one and it was quite delicious. And then I said my ‘see you later’ to Julia and off to the train station I went. Just making it in the nick of time- except my train ended up getting cancelled. Okay…. So I waited for the next one which was 2 hours later, not a big deal. What was a big deal is that all the people waiting for the first train were also doing the same thing, so the train had like double the amount of passengers, and everyone was crowded in the hallway for the first three hours…. Once the train got to Frankfurt, they announced over the speaker that everyone had to get off unless you had a seat reservation. But I didn’t want to do that, so I saw that one of the nearby cabins had an extra seat, so I kindly asked the group of boys from Mexico in there if I could sit there. And then I had a seat for the rest of the ride 😇! After the train, I went to my hostel, which was unfortunately kind of far out from the city centre. Something funny about Berlin to me is the little dude that’s in the crosswalk sign (pictured). When I got to my hostel, I’d met a woman from Italy named Valentina and we’d decided to go explore a bit and grab some food. She’s a strength and conditioning coach, which is funny cuz I’m studying kinesiology! We got some cheap currywurst for dinner, and walked around central Berlin, seeing some of the sights. After, I met up with two of the guys from the train and we hung out and grabbed some food to eat- I had an overpriced pizza, the toppings were kind of random, but it was quite yummy.Read more