Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Berlin Day 3

    August 4, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    This morning I set off to go and see the East Side Gallery, which is like an open air art gallery on the Berlin wall that formerly separated East and West Berlin. Some of the artwork reflected the tension and despair of that time, and some is just some goood artwork!! It was super cool to see, and the weather was nice for the walk as well! After I’d walked along the gallery, I went over to the Anne Frank Museum. I actually never fully knew about what had happened to the family so it was super interesting. After that, I went to eat a bahn mi, then I went to another museum which was called the Germäldegalerie, which is an Art Nouveau museum. There were so many huge paintings, a lot of the them were portraits or allegorical paintings. I stayed there for a while- it was a huge gallery! Then after, I walked over to the nearby Tiergarten, which is a park. There was a nice pond that I sat and eventually napped by. Then, I walked back towards the city and passed by the Brandenburger Tor, which I’m not really sure what it’s purpose is. I also walked through the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe. I went to find some food and went to a chinese restaurant and got some dumplings. Sadly they were not soup filled. And then I realized that I left my water bottle at the park so I had to walk all the way back to the park, then I made my way back to my hostel. And that’s a wrap on Berlin!Read more