Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 48

    The Hague Day 1

    August 5, 2023 in the Netherlands ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Set out early to take a loooong train to The Netherlands. The vast majority of this day was spent on trains, first a 6.5 hour train from Berlin to Amsterdam, then a shorter, 52 minute train to The Hague. Travel days really take it out of you, despite the fact that you’re just sitting for an extended period of time- and even sleeping too. So, I had actually gotten a hotel for my one night here, which was actually the best thing ever!!!!! I didn’t realize how much I needed it- privacy, my own space, a NICE space. (BIG SHOUTOUT TO UNCLE PETE❤️❤️) It was amazing, even though I barely got to spend time in the room. So, I spent a short hour getting ready and showering- and also calling Ailish 😁 and I left to go and watch the NDT summer intensive open night!! For context, Emma has been doing the intensive here in The Hague for the past 2 weeks (which is a huuuuuge deal and honor- which she rightfully deserves) and on the final day they have classes that you can watch, and a performance. For one, it was so nice to see a familiar, friendly face after a month of strangers, and two, so amazing to watch Emma dance and partake in such an amazing achievement!!! She is so amazing and I’m so happy for her 🥹🥹🥹. After, I went to eat pasta for… breakfast!!! I hadn’t eaten all day- despite a little waffle and an orange- because I’d been on the train all day, or crunching time to make it for the performance! So I was starving, as it was 10:30PM. The pasta was sooooo good though, maybe extra good bc I was so hungry. It was raining so hard after dinner 😭😭😭 so windy, and so cold. I went back to the hotel, and talked with the receptionist for a bit, who’d given me some good recommendations for The Hague and in Amsterdam! I’d wanted to catch up with Emma and hang out but the travel day rlly got to me, and I had a big fat sleep. IN MY HUGE BED IN THIS BEAUTIFUL HOTEL ROOM!!!Read more