Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Amsterdam Day 1

    August 6, 2023 in the Netherlands ⋅ 🌧 15 °C

    So today I’d actually spent most of my day in The Hague. I woke up and checked out of my hotel, but left my bags. I went to take a walk to the Schvenigen pier, where, a seagull had taken my breakfast out of my hand…… after, I walked along the beach for about an hour. It was chilly out but the beach was still so nice to see. After that, I walked through the Statenkwartier neighbourhood which houses lots of unique architecture. The houses were very very cute to see. After that, I took a tram to the centre to find something to eat- and I went to find some Surinamese food, as per the recommendation of the hotel receptionist! And it was honestly the most delicious meal that I’ve had on this trip! Surinamese food is “a complex blend of Indian, Javanese, Chinese, Dutch, Jewish, Portuguese and Native Amerindian influences.” I had this pork sandwich which also came with like this spicy ginger paste. Delicious. That’s all I gotta say. And cheap too! After, I walked over to the Binnenhof plaza where I saw De Ridderzaal which is like this castle palace kind of thing. Then I walked around the water towards the Lange Voorhout which is an L-shaped street that ended up housing a cute vintage market where I bought some jewelry! I finished my time in The Hague off with a stroopwafel- this particular place was also recommended to me by the hotel receptionist. I love stroopwafels, i think I’m addicted. The rain began to pour very very hard, and that wrapped up my time here, and off I went to Amsterdam.

    I arrived in the evening, and tell me why the hostel was set up like this (2 twin beds pushed together). There was also a bunk bed, but both of those beds were taken so I had to settle for the single beds. I was notttt gonna sleep next to someone else, so I did a little renovation and moved the beds apart LOL. This hostel was actually so nice and modern looking, I wish I took a picture of the bathroom cuz it was so nice. Later on, I went to eat Thai food for dinner with my hostelmate, Emma, who’s a chemist from California! I got like a spicy coconut milk chicken soup and some veggie loempia. Yummy! After, we went to go watch the pride closing party, which was like a big drag show type of thing which was cool, but to be honest the music wasn’t very upbeat which was a let down. We’d met up with a pair of brothers from New York who were also staying in our hostel, and we went to a bar down the red light district. Then we finished our night off at a karaoke bar which was super fun! We sang Locked Out of Heaven and Counting Stars 😎.
    Read more