Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 59

    London Day 1

    August 16, 2023 in England ⋅ 🌙 18 °C

    Woke up in Londonn at around 8:30am! And i was starving, so after dropping my bags off at the hotel that I will stay at for the night, I went over to find breakfast at a little café. I opted to get some smoked salmon eggs benedict 😋 and read my book as I ate breakfast. After that, I took a peek over at Hyde Park which is the area that I was staying at. It’s huuuuge! I only walked around for about 20 minutes and I don’t even think that I saw a tenth of the park. But the section that I did see was gorgeous! It had a little fountain and everything. The whole park was quite well maintained. After a short stroll, I walked over to Camden Market which was about an hour and 15 minutes. I stumbled upon a trapeze/circus school?? Which was random, but fun to watch for a little bit. I got to the market and looked around for a loooooong time. Funny considering that I didn’t end up buying anything (which I do regret now) but it was massive! I believe that it used to be a horse market or something. But yeah there’s endless stalls, I definitely didn’t get to check all of them out. But they had everything- clothes, jewelry, food, souvenirs, and so much more than that. I’d gotten some chicken dumplings for lunch, and a pastel de nata as a little dessert. After the market, I took the bus back to the hotel to check in. Except I fell asleep on the bus and stayed on for like 15 more minutes past my stop…. Oops. So then I had to walk for about 30 minutes back to the hotel. After I got my things settled in my room, I went to go to the Borough market to meet Jenny, who’s actually someone from Richmond! We connected over instagram through a mutual friend- which we happen to have quite a few of- but we’ve never actually met ourselves. We shared some overpriced strawberries covered in chocolate (€8=$16ish CAD)- but it was so so so delicious, don’t regret that choice. We did a lot of walking around central London, which I hadn’t seen yet since I’m staying a bit further out. We grabbed some chipotle for dinner- which is kind of comical to me that I’d get that on vacation. We saw the Tower of London, and walked over the Tower Bridge a couple of times. It was a really nice time spent!! Jenny was feeling tired which is so reasonable because she just arrived today, so she headed back to her hostel. Then I decided to walk from the centre of London all the way back to my hostel (2.5 hours walk ish). So I walked along South Bank, which is kind of by the water. Saw some street performers, and walked by many of the sightseeing-y things such as the London Eye and Big Ben! My feet and legs were very very tired by the end of the day. 45,784 steps in total today folks. After, I did a solid load of “laundry” which is just me washing my socks and underwear in the sink👍🏻👍🏻Read more