Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 61

    London Day 2

    August 18, 2023 in England ⋅ ☁️ 18 °C

    This morning I woke up and changed over to my hostel, which was about a 20 minute walk away, also in the Hyde Park area. Soon after, I met Julia (friend that I met in Prague!!!!) at my hostel after I settled in. We went to a café where I got a matcha and she grabbed a coffee and cheese pastry thing? After we simply walked around the town, stopping in shops, I bought a skirt at a thrift store. We went into like the London equivalent of a shoppers drug mart and two ladies were fighting LOL and pulling their phones out and recording, idek the context but it was kinda funny. I got some stroopwafels from flying tiger (a Copenhagen ikea-like store). And we just went on a loooong walk to Chelsea which is the area that Julia lives. It didn’t sound like we did much but we were hanging out for like 5 hours so idk where all the time went. After Julia went home, I met up with Elena, who was a girl that I’d met back before going solo in Barcelona! We just grabbed dinner at this restaurant called Megan’s where I got a fancy schmancy kebab. After our dinner, I walked along King’s Road which had a bunch of cute stores- which were closed at this time of the night. After strolling for a long while, I went to meet Lauren, who’s from UBC that I was in a dance club with in first year! I’d seen that she was in London too and just asked if she wanted to get ice cream or something. So we did exactly that, met around the city centre of London and got some popsicles from the grocery store and walked around. It began to POURRR at some point, I swear it was the hardest rain that I’d ever experienced, it was crazyyy my shoes were soaked. And on that note, I decided that it was time to head back.Read more