Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 42

    Darjeeling - Horns, hills & smoked tea

    April 21, 2019 in India ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    The following day I took it easy to reach Darjeeling. This time, only 10 km left and (almost) no more climbing.
    This allowed me to visit a few monasteries, to watch the Darjeeling train roll by, to visit the Himalayan tibetan museum and to wander in the city. Which is by the way, not too pleasant to visit, at least on a bicycle ... The streets are very narrow, busy, noisy and steep, which made the progression quite difficult.
    The incessant sound of horns is also starting to get on my nerves.. I sometimes renounce any sense of moderation recommanded by Tibetan Buddhism by just shooting back to drivers who horn too often or too loudly... Not the best path to my soul deliverance, I know. And I should just get used to it.. It's only the beginning of the trip in India for me !

    I found peace in the evening, in the comfie family homestay recommended by Danny from Dudhia, and managed by his friend Dawa. Wonderful view over the surrounding hills and... quiet, at last. A nice Irish couple was staying there too, finishing a 6 months trip.

    By the way, the Darjeeling tea smells like some kind of smoked sausage or ashes from a chimney but tastes delicious...
    Read more