Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 52

    Back on my bike ! Towards Singtam

    May 1, 2019 in India ⋅ 🌧 18 °C

    When coming back from trekking, I had to stop for a while in Jorethang, waiting for Rohit to return, before getting my bicycle back. I kept myself busy doing laundry, a haircut, some shopping, trying out new local restaurants... And walking around. The monks have definitely good taste for choosing their monasteries' spots !

    When finally getting Hathi back, i made a bike check up, since it has suffered from the muddy & bumpy roads. Then I progressed at a snail's pace, the road being still very hilly. From Jorethang to Namchi (21 km), from Namchi to Singtam (52 km), visiting monasteries and tea plantations on the way. And getting wet again, every afternoon...

    The access to some monasteries was extremely strenuous. (Again, the monks enjoy meditating in scenic spots... on the hilltop !!). Sanduptse in particular (more than 2200m high) made me cry out and grunt like an exhausted tennis player...

    At the end of one day, after facing fog, rain and slopes, and still not knowing where to sleep, I decided to sacrifice my independence and to knock at someone's door. The idea was to ask if I could set up my tent (I had spotted a nice piece of grass from above, so rare in Sikkim!). I was lucky enough to find not only a camping spot but a home away from home : Santoosh Ray, the owner, invited me in their comfortable house. Milk tea and whiskey, delicious thali, warm shower, comfie bed in a private room... I wad spoiled like the prodigal son. Thanks again Indian hospitality and... Sweet dreams to everybody !
    Read more