Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Perfect hosts, until the end

    May 4, 2019 in India ⋅ 🌧 21 °C

    For my second and last night at their home, Santoosh made me a morning surprise by taking me to the neighboring Krishna temple.There, a priest took time to explain the gurus' history and the differences between their way of worshipping Krishna and that of the ISKCON followers for instance (international society for Krishna's consciousness). Well, I have to say i did not get all the subtilities but I'll do some research later on...

    To thank them, I could only share some of my food but in return, Santosh's mother, who took care of me like a Grandma, filled my bags with fruits, nuts, pistachio, etc. And.. a hand-knitted puppet. My laughing buddha has found some company and me.. a soft toy to sleep with !

    More seriously, with the lasts days' encounter, i feel very lucky and blessed. It is with these people and memories in mind that I got back to biking. After 8 days of travelling around Sikkim, it's time for me to leave this charming and rainy little state and to head down to the plains. My next big stop will be the city of Siliguri, in West Bengal.
    Read more