Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 261

    Crossing between Honshu and Kyushu

    November 26, 2019 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    The following day I was a bit worried - how was I going to cross from one Japanese island to another? There seemed to be a huge bridge but I was unsure whether I could ride it. A blog informed me of the existence of an underwater tunnel, only for pedestrians and bicycles. Nice ! So I went across at night, among joggers and walkers who use this passage to do a bit of exercice. Inside the tunnel, no artistic lighting like in the tunnel of Croix rousse in Lyon, but some undersea life drawings, like in the Marne river tunnel (sorry for the 100% French references !).

    Since it was already dark and late when arriving on Kyushu, I found the closest park to camp. Not a great spot : not enough space and flat grass, too many fishermen and passerbys... And surprise, at 5:30 am, a loud group of retired people invaded the garden for their early morning gym. With them, a dog dressed in a "Christmas style flashing light garland coat" kept barking around my tent. A bit alarmed by all this noise, I packed everything and folded my tent very quickly. Aouch. Too early...
    Read more