Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Walking Day 9 to Triacastela

    June 2, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 59 °F

    Walked e 14.2 miles today back down the mountain we walked up yesterday. It was quite cold early. We didn't get cafe or breakfast until about 9:30 when we came across a bar to serve us. I had delicious huevos y tostadas. I was walking into a small farm village, and to my surprise, un toro gránde was headed straight for me. He swayed he head and long horns, i think to designate how much berth he should be granted, he came to about 12' from me and then turned left into his barn. I remember reading somewhere in the guide books that toros get the right of way on the Camino. It was apparent on this section of the trail that the livestock use the trail as well. Shortly after that, I came across a girl and her herding dogs guiding cattle across the road and across the Camino. Today we enjoyed many spectacular vistas but i have to watch the path because a misstep could be a very long fall. Then we descended into the village of Triacastla. We found the group from Australia that we dined with 2 nights ago at the cafe as we entered the villageRead more